Which phone should I get?

Eight quick questions. You get three phones that fit how you actually use one: best overall, best value and a premium pick — then we point the carrier links at whichever carrier reports the most coverage at your ZIP.

How the Phone Finder works

01

Budget and platform first

Phones above your budget, and on the wrong side of iPhone or Android, are removed before anything is scored. Nothing gets recommended that we could not find on sale in the US.

02

Weighted by what you said

To order the phones we use our own summary of published reviews (each card links them where one exists) plus the maker's spec sheet. That summary is a judgement, not a measurement, so it is never shown as a score. Your one or two priorities count most, your everyday use and screen size adjust the rest, and keeping a phone five years or more favours longer update promises.

03

Then the carrier

Every phone here works on AT&T, Verizon and T-Mobile, so the signal at home depends on the carrier, not the handset. Add your ZIP and the carrier links follow whichever carrier reports the most coverage there — the same answer as our ZIP scanner, from the same FCC filings.

The phones we compare

12 phones you can buy in the US today. Each price was read off the maker's own US store page on the date below, and the price links to that page. We only list a phone once we have found it on a carrier or at a US shop, so this list is shorter than every phone on sale. Prices change — check the live page before you buy.

PhoneUS priceScreenBatteryMain cameraUpdatesVerified on
Samsung Galaxy A17 5G $249.99
maker's US price
6.7″, 90 Hz 5,000 mAh 50 MP 6 yrs AT&T, T-Mobile
Google Pixel 10a $499.00
maker's US price
6.3″, 120 Hz 5,100 mAh 48 MP 7 yrs AT&T, T-Mobile
Apple iPhone 17e $699.00
maker's US price
6.1″, 60 Hz 26 h video* 48 MP Not stated AT&T, T-Mobile
Samsung Galaxy S26 FE $699.99
maker's US price
6.7″, 120 Hz 4,900 mAh 50 MP + zoom 7 yrs AT&T, Verizon, T-Mobile
Apple iPhone 16 $799.00
maker's US price
6.1″, 60 Hz 22 h video* 48 MP Not stated AT&T, Verizon, T-Mobile
Apple iPhone 17 $899.00
maker's US price
6.3″, 120 Hz 30 h video* 48 MP Not stated AT&T, Verizon, T-Mobile
Google Pixel 11 $899.00
maker's US price
6.3″, 120 Hz 4,985 mAh 48 MP + zoom 7 yrs AT&T, T-Mobile
Apple iPhone Air $1,099.00
maker's US price
6.5″, 120 Hz 27 h video* 48 MP Not stated AT&T, T-Mobile
Apple iPhone 18 Pro $1,199.00
maker's US price
6.3″, 120 Hz 34 h video* 48 MP + zoom Not stated AT&T, Verizon, T-Mobile
Samsung Galaxy Z Flip8 $1,199.99
maker's US price
6.9″, 120 Hz 4,300 mAh 50 MP 7 yrs AT&T, T-Mobile
Google Pixel 11 Pro XL $1,299.00
maker's US price
6.8″, 120 Hz 5,115 mAh 50 MP + zoom 7 yrs AT&T, T-Mobile
Samsung Galaxy S26 Ultra $1,299.99
maker's US price
6.9″, 120 Hz 5,000 mAh 200 MP + zoom 7 yrs AT&T, Verizon, T-Mobile

Catalogue last checked 20 September 2026. “Verified on” means we loaded that carrier's product page for that exact model and it was there. A carrier missing from that column means we have not verified it — not that the phone is unavailable; Verizon's site blocks automated checks for most models. Specs are the makers' own figures; *Apple publishes video-playback hours instead of battery capacity. Updates = years of security updates the maker promises from launch (“Not stated” means no published commitment).

Phone Finder FAQ

Q1

How does the Phone Finder choose phones?

Every phone in the catalogue has a US price read off the maker's own store page (linked from the table) and the maker's own specs. We order them using our summary of published reviews, which each result card links to where one exists. The quiz removes phones outside your budget and platform, then weights the ratings by what you said matters most, how you use your phone, the screen size you want and how long you keep a phone.

Q2

Does the carrier matter more than the phone?

For calls and data, yes. Every phone in the catalogue works on all three big carriers, so the signal you get at home is set by the carrier, not the handset. That is why the quiz asks for your ZIP and points the links at whichever carrier reports the most coverage there.

Q3

Where do the coverage numbers come from?

The FCC's National Broadband Map. Each carrier files the area where it says it offers service, and the FCC publishes the share of each place inside that filing. They are carrier-reported, not measured — nobody drove your street with a meter. They also count area, not people, so a wide rural filing can still miss the one road you use. Check the carrier's own map for your address before you switch.

Q4

Should I buy the phone outright or on a carrier plan?

A carrier deal usually spreads the handset cost over 24–36 months and ties you in for that long. Buying unlocked leaves you free to move if coverage where you live changes, which matters more than it sounds when the carriers file such different maps. Add up the total cost of both, including any trade-in credit, before you decide.